top of page

What I Didn't Know

Updated: Sep 24, 2022

I am now in my 3rd summer in Canada—with this one being the hardest. I usually am happy with the sun as a ready source for my mental health. I struggled a lot, wondering why I was unstable. I realized I underwent so much change in all aspects of myself. I had changes spiritually, socially, financially, mentally, and emotionally.


We immigrated to Canada in 2019, just right before COVID hit. In the middle of 2021, I was wondering why so much of my life was still tied in my home country. I've lived here for 2 years then, yet I found nothing interesting in Winnipeg.


Now, it's my third summer here. I realized the changes I'm experiencing now were appropriate. I was meeting new people, getting new job opportunities, learning new art mediums, and discovering new places I like. It wasn't Winnipeg's fault. COVID halted the start of my life in Canada. It seems so obvious now, but I was clueless for years.



15 views0 comments
bottom of page